Major League Soccer 2017 Midseason Awards

Patrick Gorski –

As we’re officially in the middle of the 2017 MLS season, it’s appropriate to give out some midseason awards. Remember, these are all just opinions. Don’t get mad if your favorite player is not on here. With all this out the way, let’s start this:

MVP: David Accam

To kick things off, Chicago Fire’s David Accam will win MVP. Accam is not the most popular pick to win MVP, but do not be surprised if he does. He’s not the most attractive pick like a Sebastian Giovinco or a David Villa, but wow, Accam gets it done.

Even though the Fire has a deep squad, Accam is arguably the brightest spot on the team, even though players like Bastian Schweinsteiger and Nemanja Nikolic are regulars. Racking up 10 goals and 6 assists, the MVP award is easily deserved for Accam.


Coach of the Year: Wilmer Cabrera

Coach of the Year without a doubt has to be Houston Dynamo head coach Wilmer Cabrera. In the 3 years with the club, the 49-year-old has revived the Dynamo to their former glory after 3 disappointing seasons.

Cabrera managed to bring in South American talent by signing Romell Quioto, Alberth Elis, Juan Cabezas and Alex. Thanks to them, and a revived Erik Torres, Houston have become one of the most talented attacking teams in the league. Currently 2nd in the Western Conference at the time of this article, expect the Dynamo to be contenders for MLS Cup.

Comeback Player of the Year: Erik “Cubo” Torres

Going to Comeback Player of the Year, it seems fair to give Houston Dynamo’s Erik “Cubo” Torres the award. Ever since moving to Houston, Cubo has kickstarted his career from not even scoring a goal in two seasons to scoring 11 goals in 16 games. It finally looks like Torres looks like he has found a home. If he keeps this up, Torres will win it.

Defender of the Year: Ike Opara

For the Defender of the Year, Sporting Kansas City’s Ike Opara is the top dog. Opara has been the staple of SKC’s defense along with Matt Besler for the past years and it is deserved he gets this award. Winning the ball for his team and disrupting attacks, Opara is very key in Kansas City’s success. As SKC are currently on top of the Western Conference, it would be right to give Opara the award.

Goalkeeper of the Year: Tim Melia

Goalkeeper of the Year goes to Sporting Kansas City’s Tim Melia. The 31-year-old has been one the best goalkeepers so far in the league, earning 9 clean sheets and making 57 saves. Quietly becoming one of the elite goalkeepers in MLS, Goalkeeper of the Year is belongs for Melia.

Rookie of the Year: Julian Gressel

Rookie of the Year goes to Atlanta United’s Julian Gressel. Out of the 2017 Draft Class, Gressel has arguably produced the most in Atlanta’s high-flying offense.

Also, can we just realize how flexible he is? Being listed as a centre midfielder, the German has thrived as a winger, racking up 3 goals and 3 assists. Gressel is going to be key in Atlanta’s future as winning Rookie of the Year will be a starting point.

Golden Boot: Nemanja Nikolic

The Golden Boot award goes to Chicago Fire’s Nemanja Nikolic. The Hungarian has been on fire this season, scoring 14 goals in 17 games. He’s averaging 0.85 goals per 90 minutes!

Arguably the most clinical finisher in the league, Nikolic is bound to win the award, as he is currently leading the Golden Boot race. Heck, he might even break the record for most goals in a season which is currently owned by Chris Wondolowski, Bradley-Wright Phillips and Roy Lassiter with 27.

Newcomer of the Year: Romain Alessandrini

Out of all the awards, Newcomer of the Year was the most difficult to assign. As the large transfer window was very exciting, 5-10 players should be heavy favorites to win, but LA Galaxy’s Romain Alessandrini is the front-runner.

Ever since moving to LA from Ligue 1 side Marseille, the 28-year-old emerged as one of the best wingers in the league. Tallying 8 goals and 7 assists, Alessandrini has been a bright light in the Galaxy’s mediocre season for their standards. If the Frenchman keeps this up, he will win the award in a very loaded transfer class.


2 thoughts on “Major League Soccer 2017 Midseason Awards

  1. Pingback: Gold Cup Preview: El Salvador |

  2. Pingback: Best Player On Each MLS Eastern Conference Team |

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s